Il segreto della principessa della pizza

Norwegians love pizza! They are the top pizza consumers  in the world (per-person ratio), before USA and far before Italy that is only in fifth place. The 5.2 million people living in Norway consume around 26 000 tonns pizza each year, that is an average of 5 kilos pizza per person! Pizza is good, pizza is fantastic. However the sad news is that, among all these pizzas, most of it is frozen (65%). People in Norway eat 50 million frozen pizzas every year… Why is it so when baking delicious pizza at home is so easy? Letizia, principessa della pizza, born in the birthplace of pizza, shares her secret with us: “Fornetto, this is the most important tool!”

I make pizza each Sunday. I use simple ingredients, the standard ones you find in a Norwegian supermarket. Nevertheless, I plan and I use time and love. It is a kind of therapy to make pizza on Sunday. I always think about something related to pizza. I think of the first pizza we were making with my mothers, sisters, and friends in late 60’s and early 70’s. I especially love capers. I think of the pizzas we ate in the 80’s at Montino in Pisa, in Torino, in Napoli, the pizza that Italians say they do not want to eat abroad but that we eat anyway.

On Saturday morning before going out for shopping, I check that I have the basic ingredients

  • Farina
  • Lievito
  • Olio di oliva
  • Origano (here I am always lucky to have something from Sicily or Greece, very important to have good origano)
  • Mozzarella

Then I sit down and imagine which pizza I want to make and I choose between the following ingredients:

  • Melanzane
  • Zucchini
  • Funghi
  • Rucola
  • Salame (X)
  • Gorgonzola
  • Prosciutto crudo
  • Cipolla (X)
  • Mascarpone
  • If I am lucky I have olio al tartufo

My sons always want salame and cipolla so they are almost a must. My favorite is funghi. If I have guests I buy several ingredients and I let the guests choose what they like most.

Roberto waiting for pizza…

1 KG flower, 600 gr water, a tea spoon salt, 30 gr oil, one piece of “lievito di birra”.

@jacquelinefloch #pizza

A post shared by Letizia Jaccheri (@letiziajaccheri) on

You get 8 pizzas from these ingredients, or as I do when I do not have guests, I save 50% for one extra dinner pizza during the week.

@jacquelinefloch #pizza

A post shared by Letizia Jaccheri (@letiziajaccheri) on

Mix master very important to run 5 minutes. I mix many hours before, but you only need 30 minutes if you do not have time.

@jacquelinefloch #pizza

A post shared by Letizia Jaccheri (@letiziajaccheri) on

Fornetto, this is the most important tool!

@jacquelinefloch #pizza

A post shared by Letizia Jaccheri (@letiziajaccheri) on

I prepare all the vegetables I want from before and I have some salt on them so they loose water. I use normal vegetables from REMA.

@jacquelinefloch #pizza

A post shared by Letizia Jaccheri (@letiziajaccheri) on

@jacquelinefloch #pizza

A post shared by Letizia Jaccheri (@letiziajaccheri) on

@jacquelinefloch #pizza

A post shared by Letizia Jaccheri (@letiziajaccheri) on

Pizza melanzane needs to be in the owen a bit before putting mozzarella on top.

@jacquelinefloch #pizza

A post shared by Letizia Jaccheri (@letiziajaccheri) on

Pizza melanzane is ready after 6 minutes in fornetto.

@jacquelinefloch #pizza

A post shared by Letizia Jaccheri (@letiziajaccheri) on

Leave a Reply

